Car Insurance for New Drivers
Ok, car insurance for new drivers – this can be a touchy subject – especially if you are letting the teen make the decision. It is your choice and there are many auto insurance companies to choose from.
In Massachusetts, teens driving on their learner’s permits with a licensed adult supervising them do not need to have their own auto insurance policies. Once they start driving on their own, however, teens need auto insurance, so you will want to explore options to keep these costs reasonable.
Because the risk of a crash is significantly higher for young drivers, particularly during the first year of driving, your teen’s insurance rate likely will be higher than your own. Here are a few strategies to help you reduce insurance costs both now and once you add your teen driver.
The best way to go with a new driver – a teen driver – is to get her, or him (or have them save for) a “beater” car – like a 2000 Honda Accord or a 1995 Honda Accord – you know – a beater.
Then have them get just Liability insurance – including Part 5 – just to get it on the road. We always recommend higher limits of Liability like 50/100 or 100/300 – but with times being tight – not everyone can afford this when they start out.
So that is the angle I would take. Car insurance for a new driver or teen driver is very expensive in cities like Brockton – a bit less in the surrounding towns – you are looking at a substantial premium either way. Other ways to save on their auto insurance may include things such as;
Have your teen take the approved Drivers Education course while they have their permit – this course can be expensive – costs can range up to about $700 but you get that money back in the form of a discount over the first three years they are driving. After your teen has been driving for 3 years – their price will drop. Massachusetts changes pricing after 3 years of driving and after 6 years of driving.
Should a teen get their own policy? Or be put on their parent’s policy? I have always felt it is best to keep the policies separate. If the kid is on your policy and they have an accident causing bodily injury to others – you don’t want the insurance company to be able to go after you, your home and your insurance policy.
This is why it is best to have the kid have their own insurance – then in an accident situation – the insurance company will only be dealing with the teen’s policy and not the parents.
Many parents realize that it is less expensive to have their kids on their policy. If you choose this route I always recommend increasing liability coverages to $250,000/$500,000 and adding an additional $2 million umbrella. This will help keep you safe in case something does happen.
Ask your agent about all the discounts available including – ask if there is a “good student” discount available for your teen. Any good agent will automatically give you every discount available – but be sure to ask anyway. Be sure to discuss the rules of the road with your teen. Absolutely NO SPEEDING! This is what causes all the other problems.
In addition – no texting while driving – not only is it very dangerous but in Massachusetts it is also against the law.
Bottom line? You call the shots. Tell your teen the best way to go.
I see it all the time – teens wanting a real nice car right away – getting Full Coverage – insurance is can be upwards of $10,000 for the year – then they can’t afford both the car and the insurance – they effect their credit rating and on it goes.
Tell your teen the best way – and in the long run they will be happy you did! When looking for car insurance for new drivers call Craig Pina at C. Pina Insurance today!
3/13/2019 03:50:44 pm
I read your blog often and you always post excellent content.keep writing.
4/10/2019 03:10:18 pm
I appreciate your post.A driving school should have skilled and knowledgeable employees.
Leave a Reply.